*Throwback* Sasha and John Digweed – Northern Exposure


A true classic.

Anyone who loves electronica, house, progressive, progressive house, trance, psy-trance, ambient, or anything close to any of those genres… should own a copy of this release. Maybe it’s because the first Northern Exposure came out at the same time that I really fell in love with techno/electronica (1996)… but I have always felt that these two discs or two mixes embodied everything that was perfect about the art of DJing. Of course, Sasha and Digweed are not “turntablists”, they are DJs, producers, engineers, and artists. Northern Exposure was their second compilation as a duo, the first being Renaissance: The Mix Collection (released 1994). There are many people who argue that this was their best work to date and the pinnacle of DJ compilation. I recommend you bookmark this page so that you can come back and listen when you can devote enough time to listen uninterrupted. They are truly that good. Ladies and gentlemen… I give you Northern Exposure:

  1. Keiichi Suzuki – “Satellite Serenade” (The Orb’s Transasianexpress mix) – 10:40
  2. The Future Sound of London – “Cascade (Part 1)” – 7:05
  3. Young American Primitive – “These Waves” – 4:24
  4. God Within – “Raincry (Submerged)” – 7:51
  5. Rabbit in the Moon – “O.B.E. (Out-of-Body Experience)” – 7:07
  6. Morgan King – “I’m Free” (Playdo’s Minimalist mix) / (The Full-Length La Serrena mix) – 7:22
  7. Ultraviolet – “Kites” (Purple Haze’s Fantasy Flite Part One) – 4:11
  8. Fuzzy Logic – “Obsession” (William Orbit’s Quantum Loop mix) – 4:59
  9. William Orbit – “Water from a Vine Leaf” (Spooky’s Xylem Flow mix) – 6:49
  10. Apollo 440 – “Liquid Cool” (Deep Forest’s Ice Cold @ the Equator mix) – 6:25
  11. Banco de Gaia – “Last Train to Lhasa” – 10:45

  1. Dope on Plastic – “Wave Dub” – 5:59
  2. Drum Club – “Sound System” (Underworld mix) – 7:02
  3. Castle Trancelott – “The Gloom” – 6:38
  4. Pete Lazonby – “Wavespeech” (Junior Vasquez mix) – 6:08
  5. Evolution – “Phoenix” – 7:07
  6. The Light – “Dusk” – 3:48
  7. X Tracks – “Plan 94 (The Voyage)” – 5:46
  8. Mellow Mellow – “I Can’t Stop” – 4:32
  9. Banco de Gaia – “Heliopolis” (Eedupolis Dog mix) – 3:33
  10. Humate & Rabbit in the Moon – “East” (Opium Den mix) – 7:36
  11. Underworld – “Dark & Long” (Dark Train) – 10:58

p.s. It is important to note that the US release only contained the first disc. So if you bought this in 1997 or later and it only had one disc, I’m afraid to say that you were missing out on a whole other journey.


Jagwar Ma – Uncertainty [Ewan Pearson Remix]


Ewan Pearson is an English producer/remixer, his biggest influences were the usual characters of the post new wave synth band era; Depeche Mode, New Order, etc. The list of artists he’s worked with is long and varied. From larger names like Depeche Mode, The Chemical Brothers, Goldfrapp, Ladytron and Moby to less well-known artists like Playgroup, Futureshock, Freeform Five, Slam and Dot Allison among many others. He even produced a couple of songs on Gwen Stefani’s Love. Angel. Music. Baby. Today we’ve got his reimagining of Jagwar Ma’s “Uncertainty”. This is a classically produced slow progressive remix. The first 3 minutes build off of bassy synth lines, next introducing a solid kick and layering in Jaguar Ma’s vocals to a hypnotic beat. The magic moment is at about 3:40 where the snares kick in and it really takes off.

Chromeo – Come Alive [Damaged Goods Remix]


It’s freakin Friday night people! Time to shake dat ass. Anyone who (like me) is finishing up midterms will certainly appreciate a good excuse to let loose. And this massive progressive house club remix will rock the floor of any room, club to dorm. Obi Tawil, aka Damaged Goods, delivers something very club, very Miami-esque, but for me it’s all about the Chromeo. Click the title below to jump to soundcloud, then download and blow the speakers my friend!

Factory Floor – How You Say [Daniel Avery Remix]


Got work tomorrow and can’t sleep? Me too! So I thought I’d at least share with you. That’s Daniel Avery above, a very talented young Londoner who has certainly taken off since the release of his Drone Logic LP. His remix of Factory Floor’s “How You Say” is a beautiful progressive house track bordering on dark house.

Factory Floor Tour Dates
4/7: Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club
4/8: Seattle, WA @ Barboza
4/9: Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
4/13: Indio, CA @ Coachella
4/16: San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
4/17: Los Angeles, CA @ Echo
4/20: Indio, CA @ Coachella
4/22: Montreal, QC @ Le Belmont
4/23: Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
4/24: Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
4/26: Asheville, NC @ Moogfest
7/18-7/20: Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Tourist – I Can’t Keep Up feat Will Heard + Together


Looks like Tourist has a new EP, Patterns on the verge of release from Method Records. This guy has been on a whirlwind rise over in the UK since the release of his last EP this time last year. “I Can’t Keep Up” is a epic, progressive building track driven by Will Heard’s room-filling voice. “Together” is more of a progressive, chillwave? house track. Both very good.